How to login

This Q&A forum allows users to post and respond to "How Do I Do ....." questions. Please do not use to report (suspected) errors - you must use your regional help desk for this. The information contained in this forum has not been validated by LANSA and, as such, LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information.
wizard

How to login

Post by wizard » Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:44 pm

Hello everyone :D

I am new in Lansa environment. I came from php programmer and currently working on Lansa Web Dev Tools.

As you guys know it is so simple to do login function in php. I mean, we create a database, a table named 'registrationtbl', put some data, then develop a login UI, user key in username and password, the system will check does the input are on database, if does the user will login then the session will start.

I wonder how to do it on VL. I have do the tutorial about session but the input is only 'LANSA', not from database. I wonder how to do login session and validation just like php can do.

I noticed that people said VL will make web dev process easier but there not so much source newcomer like me to depend on. So i found this forum and really hope you guys can be our teacher.

Thank you in advance. The simplest way the better :) ;)

Regards, Wizard

wizard

Re: How to login

Post by wizard » Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:12 pm

So nobody willing to help. No wonder LANSA not famous. Cant even do login session. SMH. Game changer my ass.

RomainM

Post by RomainM » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:05 pm

Hi Wizard,

I suggest to have a look on the sample application "online Banking" using the components XBNMain and XBNLogin.

regards.

MarkD

Post by MarkD » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:27 pm

Some people prefer to validate the VL-Web session user and password against their operating system credentials.
That might save having to give people multiple profiles and/or do dual user profile maintenance.