Activex error for one user

This Q&A forum allows users to post and respond to "How Do I Do ....." questions. Please do not use to report (suspected) errors - you must use your regional help desk for this. The information contained in this forum has not been validated by LANSA and, as such, LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information.
Post Reply
atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:20 am

VLF-WIN, we use VA_WORD from shipped examples to work with MS Word. One user started getting the errors below when using one component that uses VA_WORD. Other components are fine.

I've tried recompiling the components that use VA_WORD but he's still getting the same errors. Line 813 in my component is the SET_REF to VA_WORD.
Thanks for any info
errors.png
errors.png (87.02 KiB) Viewed 3054 times
Last edited by atostaine on Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Art Tostaine

User avatar
lawingo
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:41 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by lawingo » Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:55 pm

The version of Word on the deployed computer must be the same as the version registered in the Active X.

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:50 pm

It looks like maybe there is a mismatch. I go into the IDE and open the activeX component. When I click to update the ProgID the IDE crashes. When I click typeLibId I can't see the latest version of Word activex there.

Art
Art Tostaine

User avatar
lawingo
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:41 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by lawingo » Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:13 am

Image

Here is what I use. This is under "Other Components" when looking at the ActiveX Component Browser.

Hope it helps.
Chad

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Wed Jul 31, 2019 2:31 am

Thanks Chad. I was able to type that in manually somehow. Waiting for testing results.
Art Tostaine

bark
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:56 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by bark » Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:57 am

Regarding this bit "When I click to update the ProgID the IDE crashes."
Check out this https://www.lansa.com/support/notes/p0463.htm
ActiveX crash in Visual LANSA editor after applying Windows 10 update

I know there has been a round of Windows updates recently so this is a distinct possibility.

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:52 am

bark wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:57 am
Regarding this bit "When I click to update the ProgID the IDE crashes."
Check out this https://www.lansa.com/support/notes/p0463.htm
ActiveX crash in Visual LANSA editor after applying Windows 10 update

I know there has been a round of Windows updates recently so this is a distinct possibility.
This worked. Thanks
Art Tostaine

MarkD
Posts: 670
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:56 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by MarkD » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:04 am

Can we mark this one as resolved?

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:19 pm

Yes thank you.
Art Tostaine

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user (RESOLVED)

Post by atostaine » Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:05 am

Need to revisit this :oops:

Here is what my DEV pc shows when I'm trying to select the Word activex component. Notice the "FF" in the type id.
shot1.png
shot1.png (45.46 KiB) Viewed 2606 times
When I click on the typelib ID to add that, I go to the microsoft word component, select it and it brings in a different typelibid. The FF is what the end users have on their systems.

Code: Select all

Function Options(*DIRECT)
Begin_Com Role(*EXTENDS #PRIM_MCCO) Progid('Word.Application.16') Typelibid('{00020905-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}8.7,0')
End_Com
Any users who deploy the latest application from DEV are all failing when using word. The get that the progid needs a type id specified.

We have Office 2016 installed on all PC's.

Any ideas? Thanks
Art Tostaine

bark
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:56 am

Re: Activex error for one user (RESOLVED)

Post by bark » Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:22 am

I think what you are saying is that the end users still have the same version of MS Word but the TypeLibID on your own dev PC has changed so when you build and deploy, it fails for the users. Correct?

So what has changed on your PC since this was last OK? Did you get a new update of Office 2016? Have you moved to 64-bit MS Office (and Word)? Can you type it in manually?

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user (RESOLVED)

Post by atostaine » Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:24 am

Several users had upgraded to Office 2019 and this problem started. So we put DEV and all PC's on Office 2016 so they all match.

Something is wrong when I select the Activex the typelibid doesn't show what I double clicked on.
Art Tostaine

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:03 am

We submitted an incident to support in USA. Does anyone think the fact that I click one activex that after selecting it shows a different type lib id could be an IDE problem?
Art Tostaine

atostaine
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: Activex error for one user

Post by atostaine » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:46 am

I used Regedit to remove Word activex entries for older versions. In fact I deleted all of them and then did a repair in programs and features. This solved my problem.
Art Tostaine

Post Reply