does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

This Q&A forum allows users to post and respond to "How Do I Do ....." questions. Please do not use to report (suspected) errors - you must use your regional help desk for this. The information contained in this forum has not been validated by LANSA and, as such, LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information.
Post Reply
jabdefiant
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 1:07 pm

does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by jabdefiant » Sat Apr 24, 2021 1:02 am

Hi All,

We have multiple LANSA systems, and often share data. We would use LOAD_OTHER to do this. It used to work.

I moved to V14SP2 recently, and can no longer find the load_other feature.
There is a new button "Import Tables from IBM i". I think that's supposed to be the replacement.
When I try the import button, it loads the file, but check-in now fails.

Has anyone else out there in LANSA land experienced this, and can share some insight?

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,
Andy

User avatar
lawingo
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:41 am

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by lawingo » Sat Apr 24, 2021 6:41 am

Do the Lansa Systems live on the same box ? You could export the objects using the Green Screen lansa Developer Menu and then Import the objects into the new Environment. Once you do that you'll need to Refresh the Object and compile it in the IDE.

I only use LOAD_OTHER exclusively for NON Lansa Objects.

Best,
Chad

jabdefiant
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 1:07 pm

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by jabdefiant » Sat Apr 24, 2021 6:53 am

Yes. They do live on the same server.
The export/import does work, but then it looks like a native file. So a developer might make mods to the file without realizing the connection between the systems. Was hoping that I would not have to resort to that.

Thanks Chad.

User avatar
Dino
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:49 am
Location: Robbinsville, NC
Contact:

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by Dino » Tue Apr 27, 2021 1:32 am

When importing a Table originally created in LANSA (in another partition, system) using the Import Tables from IBMi option in Visual LANSA, you will have a warning:
"Alias name UPDATE_IDENT is not valid for field @@UPID in an Imported Table definition. Value is ignored"

this because LANSA normally adds that field in the structure of the PF in a LANSA created file.

Now, in Visual LANSA, the file is displayed in yellow instead of green, and the access to modify the structure is blocked (you cannot add more fields, delete fields, etc.). But you also see the field @@UPID like a field more in the structure (normally, hidden from the developer when editing LANSA files created in LANSA).

If I try to compile that file in Visual LANSA, it will fail with:
"Item X_UPID already exists."

If I try to check-in that file, yes you will get an error, indicating that Generation of source for Table - xxxx failed. Compile request ignored.

Now, saying so, the load other, the Bulk load of other files, seems to be solving this correctly. It loads the file, compiles it, shows the @@UPID in the Display Fields in File Definition screen (LANSA/AD green screen) and the file is blocked from structure changes.
And this is testing in V15 EPC150030, in a LANSA green screen environment, NON RDMLX partition.
Looks like the old "Bulk load of other fields" don't work in RDMLX enabled partitions.

jabdefiant
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 1:07 pm

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by jabdefiant » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:48 pm

Dino,

Thank you for your response.

This is exactly what I am experiencing. Are you saying that the LOAD_OTHER still exists in V15 as long as the partition is not RDMLX enabled?

I used it frequently in V13 in both RDMLX and non-RDMLX partitions (before we upgraded) without any issues. Now all our partitions are RDMLX enabled, and I only see the "Import tables from IBM i"

Regards,

Andy

User avatar
Dino
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:49 am
Location: Robbinsville, NC
Contact:

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by Dino » Wed Apr 28, 2021 12:07 am

Yes, you can still used in RDML partitions. not in RDMLX partitions.
Just go in the IBM to the Administration Menu/Initialize Partition and select the LS@BULKLOD

DC@P860201 Partition Initialize Details

Job description . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . DCXPGMLIB/DCXJOBD
Job queue . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . *JOBD
Output queue . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . *JOBD
Optical device named . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Type options and press Enter.
7=Import
Opt Option Details

SYSFLDS System fields *SAVF
HELP_NML Non-multilingual help *SAVF
LS@BULKLOD Bulk load of OTHER files *SAVF


You will have the F10 option in Work with Files:

SELFILE Work with Files

Position to Impact List

Type options, press Enter
2=Review/Change Fields 4=Delete 6=Print 7=Make operational
12=Rules/Triggers 17=Last Action Details 19=Logical views ...


Version No.
Opt File Library Description Act Lts Lgls
. TEST0426PF DCXNOXLIB Test File 1 1 0

Command :

F1=Help F3=Exit F4=Prompt F6=Add/Create F9=Retrieve F10=Bulk load
F12=Cancel F14=Messages F15=SortByDesc F23=More Optns


While the LS@BULKLOD process will be imported in an RDMLX partition, you will get this message if you try to run it:

Files may not be loaded in this environment in an RDMLX enabled partition.

jabdefiant
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 1:07 pm

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by jabdefiant » Wed Apr 28, 2021 7:11 am

Thanks Dino.

I have had further communications with LANSA support on this issue, and they are looking into it.

I will update this thread with whatever resolution I get from them.

René Houba
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 7:03 am

Re: does LOAD_OTHER between LANSA systems still work?

Post by René Houba » Mon May 03, 2021 8:11 pm

Hi,

Is this an RDMLX environment and does your file contain *VARCHAR fields?
You said that the Checkin failed.
IF your OTHER file on the iSeries contains a *VARCHAR field, then you should set a partition level option to YES to make this work.

I had this problem with a prospect last week.

Kind regards,
René

Post Reply