How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

This Q&A forum allows users to post and respond to "How Do I Do ....." questions. Please do not use to report (suspected) errors - you must use your regional help desk for this. The information contained in this forum has not been validated by LANSA and, as such, LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information.
Post Reply
PreetiPP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:21 pm

How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by PreetiPP » Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:25 pm

We are automating an Windows application built with Lansa technology. The application is having grids for which we are facing issues to get data or perform actions on as Inspect.exe is not showing any data inside those grids. Can anyone please help how to use user32 dll SendMessage to retrieve information for Lansa grid.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

atostaine
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by atostaine » Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:01 pm

What LANSA technology? WAM's? VL-WEB?
Art Tostaine

dannyoorburg
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by dannyoorburg » Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:46 pm

Hi,

this must be classic Visual LANSA for Windows, NOT rendering as DirectX.

But even then I think this is not possible. LANSA controls are not standard windows controls and as such I don't think they will respond to a tool like inspect.exe.

Cheers,
Danny

PreetiPP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:21 pm

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by PreetiPP » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:40 pm

dannyoorburg wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:46 pm
Hi,

this must be classic Visual LANSA for Windows, NOT rendering as DirectX.

But even then I think this is not possible. LANSA controls are not standard windows controls and as such I don't think they will respond to a tool like inspect.exe.

Cheers,
Danny
Thanks a lot for your reply.

Yes its classic Visual Lansa for Windows. As we are not able to see any data in inspect.exe is there any way we can get data from those grids using win32 api method sendmessage. Which Native win32 element we can refer for LANSA GRID.
Or is there any other option to get data from these grids.

atostaine
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 7:38 am

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by atostaine » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:39 am

Danny knows better than anyone.

Sounds like we've come full circle. RAMP used to screen scrape 5250, now "screen" scraping Visual Lansa.
Art Tostaine

dannyoorburg
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by dannyoorburg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:40 pm

Hi,

it's not totally impossible. I've seen a robot testing tool inspect VL Windows applications in the past using the Windows Messages. And I can see some support for it in EditBox, ListView and Tree. But those are controls that exist as Windows controls, there's no such thing as a standard Windows Grid (I've been told).

Anyway, all messy stuff. What are you trying to achieve?

Cheers,
Danny

PreetiPP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:21 pm

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by PreetiPP » Tue Jan 07, 2020 5:31 pm

dannyoorburg wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:40 pm
Hi,

it's not totally impossible. I've seen a robot testing tool inspect VL Windows applications in the past using the Windows Messages. And I can see some support for it in EditBox, ListView and Tree. But those are controls that exist as Windows controls, there's no such thing as a standard Windows Grid (I've been told).

Anyway, all messy stuff. What are you trying to achieve?

Cheers,
Danny
Thanks Danny.
I also tried and was able to get info for dropdowns,radio button text boxes but with grid as u said not able to get information.
In our application the information is populating in table structure. We have to validate that data using automation but not able to do so.

PreetiPP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:21 pm

Re: How to get data inside a Lansa grid using user32 SendMessage

Post by PreetiPP » Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:41 pm

Hi Danny,

Can we achieve the grid data in some way from lansa grid. Is there any other way like reflection in c#.


Thanks in advance.
Thanks
Preeti

Post Reply