VLF-ONE New Command

This Q&A forum allows users to post and respond to "How Do I Do ....." questions. Please do not use to report (suspected) errors - you must use your regional help desk for this. The information contained in this forum has not been validated by LANSA and, as such, LANSA cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information.
Post Reply
jyoung
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA

VLF-ONE New Command

Post by jyoung » Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:01 am

I was testing out some new stuff in our VLF-ONE app and I noticed that a "New" button showed up in the menu.
capture 1.PNG
capture 1.PNG (20.79 KiB) Viewed 2774 times
I don't recall seeing this before (although its altogether possible I have been over looking it) and we don't have any "New" command enabled at the "root" level.
capture 2.PNG
capture 2.PNG (75.69 KiB) Viewed 2774 times
Clicking on it does nothing.

Any idea where this came from and how to get rid of it?

Thanks,
Joe

MarkD
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:56 am

Re: VLF-ONE New Command

Post by MarkD » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:12 am

That is a bit odd.
Would it be possible to post you framework's main XML definition file to the forum?

jyoung
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA

Re: VLF-ONE New Command

Post by jyoung » Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:14 am

Sure. Its attached as a zip files since you can't attach *.XML or *.TXT files.

On a side note, it is possible to change the object type Id for the framework? The ID is VLFONE_DEMONSTRATION and its not a demo system its the main production framework. Feel like its having our production database named DB#DEMO. :shock:
Attachments
EXPRESS_SYSTEM.zip
(14.09 KiB) Downloaded 94 times

MarkD
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:56 am

Re: VLF-ONE New Command

Post by MarkD » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:50 am

The "New" item is appearing because you have this option set in the command definition:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (55.12 KiB) Viewed 2151 times

MarkD
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:56 am

Re: VLF-ONE New Command

Post by MarkD » Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:18 pm

If this is the name you want to change:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (62.52 KiB) Viewed 2147 times
Then the answer is yes, but there are complications if you have user authority already working.

The complexity is that user authority table VFPPF07 will have the original name recorded in this column:
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (15.56 KiB) Viewed 2147 times

You would need to simultaneously to update that column’s value for all existing users, or they would lose their authorizations.

jyoung
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:43 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK USA

Re: VLF-ONE New Command

Post by jyoung » Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:11 am

I thought I looked everywhere for that option and could not find it.

I did not think to check the command definitions themselves.

Thanks Mark!

Post Reply